New Zealand wins toss and will bat in 1st of 3 Twenty 20 matches against Australia

WELLINGTON, New Zealand (AP) — New Zealand won the toss and chose to bat Wednesday in the first Twenty20 international against Australia.

The three-match series is the last for both teams ahead of the T20 World Cup in the Caribbean and United States in June.

New Zealand is ranked second in the world and Australia fourth coming into the series and New Zealand has won four of the last seven matches between the teams.

Australia will go into the match without Steve Smith who is at the stadium but did not warm up. Travis Head and David Warner will open the batting for Australia while captain Mitch Marsh will bat at No. 3 and Glenn Maxwell at four.

Josh Inglis, Tim David and Matt Short fill out the middle order.

New Zealand is without Kane Williamson who is awaiting the birth of his third child and Daryl Mitchell who is recovering from a foot injury.

Rachin Ravindra will bat at No. 3 for New Zealand as he attempts to seal a place in the New Zealand World Cup squad.


New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Mitchell Santner (captain), Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson.

Australia: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitch Marsh (captain), Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis, Tim David, Matt Short, Pat Cummings, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

Umpires: Shaun Haig and Wayne Knights, New Zealand.

TV umpire: Chris Brown, New Zealand. Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle, Sri Lanka.


AP cricket: